Yamaha PSR S910 Review

by Don
(Upstate)

Yamaha PSR S910 Review

I purchased my S910 two months ago and have not been disappointed. Love the sound with a pair of external speakers and a small amp. Continue to find new and seemingly endless capabilities. Just attempting vocal harmony and found need most likely a sterio cable to make my mics work. Have found or purchased an endless array of song styles and am having a blast playing with them. I have had four Lowrey organs which have a more robust sound of course but not the flexibility of the S910. Am impressed with instrument sounds on the S910. Still play a Lowrey but tend to go back to the S910 most of the time. S910 not inexpensive but reasonable by far compared to what Lowrey overprices their equipment. I am satisfied with the S910 and feel need or want nothing else that would better meet my expectations.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Yamaha Keyboard User Reviews.

Yamaha PSR S910 Review

by Mike Burke
(Ireland)

Yamaha PSR S910 Review

I am an aging musician and I play these days mainly for a charity group that specialises in playing for hospital patients, or anywhere we are asked to play.

I was using a PSR 2100 which I found pretty good.
I thought I'd try 'upgrading' so I took a chance and spent a great deal of money on the S910. The price here is equivelant to $2,567.

You can't tell what a keyboard is like until it has been tried on stage, and all I can say is that I am very disappointed with the S910.

The first point is that there is very little to grip when lifting, it's always a very careful business.

The second is that the built-in speakers should be tilted towards the musician. If that had been done the sound would be great.

Compared to the 2100 the styles are not great and the voices especially strings, are inclined to be tinny.

To get a decent guitar you have to manipulate the sounds in 'user', and if you try to harmonise the voice the sound is just confusing.

There is almost no choral voices and to get a good orchestral strings sound user has to bend the sound out of all normal settings. The volume of voices to styles in not a good balance.

What I can't figure is if a keyboard like the 2100 has good sounds, (although some of them had to be 'helped' too, but not to the same extent) why can't following keyboards be an improvement on what's gone before??

It's as if the designers of the S910 didn't listen to instruments being played or bands actually on stage to see what a rhythmic atmosphere should be, they seem to have designed this keyboard imagining what a sound or voice should be. The styles are full but overdone, almost a cacophony. There is not one decent disco style.

I would happily reverse the deal for the S910 and continue with my PSR 2100, but I am stuck with this poor-man's imitation of a Tyros III. I have tried vdery hard to transfer styles and voices from the 2100 to the S910 but so far with no success. And why is it made so hard to communicate one keyboard to another, especiallty when they are all within the same family- PSR ????
I wouldn't mind so much if it hadn't been so expensive, and if the styles lived up to Yamaha reputation.

In future, if I ever can afford to buy a new keyboard, it will some other make.
Thank you for your time.
Regards, Mike (in Ireland).

Yamaha PSR S910 Review

Comments for Yamaha PSR S910 Review

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jun 03, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
PSR 910
by: Dick Rector

Hi Mike,

I feel sorry for you that you are not happy with your PSR910 but you should send your comment to Yamaha. Although we are Yamaha-fans in general, we are NOT AT ALL connected to the factory, we are keyboard enthusiast trying to help others with advice if they have a problem if we can.
On the other hand it is always good to listen to the experiences of others and learn from it and I hope Yamaha does that also.

I don't want to criticize your comment Mike but I have a different opinion.
My own experience with this 'smaller' version of the TYROSIII as the PSR910 is, was short but I found it a GREAT keyboard. It all comes to personal taste and of course there will be always wishes. The sounds in the keyboard, especially the mega-voices and super-articulated voices sound to me incredible real and so close to the sampled 'real' instruments that it is hard to tell the difference. Believe me I have heard MANY of them in modern and classical music!
But that is my opinion and I respect yours!
Yes the speakers could be always better and also better positioned but HOW, they are build in like in ALL keyboards and not seperated like on the TYROSIII but that is a complete different story, try to lift that one and do your set up on a gig'place. The used voices and styles in the 910 are by the way the same as in the Tyros...
Have you connected the 910 to an external amplifier with a decent set of speakers? Wow....... I wished I could afford one.
My two penny's.

Regards
Dick
(I am a retired recording-sound-engineer)



Jun 04, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
PSR S910 Review
by: Alfred

Dear Mike & Dick: You get what you pay for but the final arbiters are your ears! These organs (no pun intended) transmit sound to one’s brain, and being the individuals we are, the sounds are interpreted differently from person to person. I’m not an experienced musician nor a sound engineer and I can detect differences between musical renditions when played on different keyboards. Also, over the years I have built several different speaker enclosures for stereo set-ups (with and without external amplifier boosters) and they definitely enhance overall sound. Furthermore, the positioning of speakers is obviously important for frequency dispersion.
I realize both of you know all of this, but the important lesson to be gleaned from your exchange of comments is for Forum participants who may be contemplating (and can afford) purchase of the PSR S910. Keep well. I certainly enjoyed reading your comments and learning from them.

PS - As far as you, Mike, are concerned, if you try Dick’s suggestion (using top-of-the-line external speakers boosted by an external amplifier), I would not be surprised if you
changed your mind about the PSR S910. Another surprise is the price you paid; maybe VAT had something to do with it. Here in the US, Ebay has them (new) for about half that price!

Jun 04, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
PSR 910
by: Dick Rector

Well said Alfred, and thanks for your contribution.

It comes to the individual to interpreted the sound. We also must not forget that a keyboard, how good they might be, uses sampled sound of the original instrument. Samples are in general quite short, (let's call it popular) 'recordings'. They are copy's and don't REPLACE the original instrument but a lot of them are coming VERY close. But I am going beyond the valuable and interesting points Mike made in his comments.

Yes Mike, I am also very surprised with the price you've paid. I live in Bali (Indonesia) and a brand new PSR910 in the box cost here roughly
13 million rupiah and that is about $1000.- ... give and take.

Dick

Jun 04, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Late PSR Models
by: Maree

All I can say Mike is if you can offload that culprit keyboard, and can afford.......maybe, $1200.00, to buy a PSR S700, do so, and youll find like I have found, a neat little consistent keyboard, you can play to your hearts content. I will admit Ive had overheating problems with the right hand speaker, however, Ive bypassed the problem. I believe the model should have been recalled, since so many of that model had the same problem.

Jun 05, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
PSR S910 Review
by: Alfred

Dear Maree: I hope the Forum continues to elicit comments/questions from individuals like you. It is a promising sign that we are attracting participants, as you may have noticed that Dick Rector and I have been unintentionally "hogging the pen". Your example is great, and we hope to hear more from you and your PSR S700. By the way, if your unit is still under warranty, make haste to return it for a replacement. If not, keep a close eye on the Internet and other forums for voluntary recall by Yamaha. Speakers should never heat up, unless their coils are defective, or too much current is being delivered I hope Yamaha is paying attention to this type of complaint. Thank you,and keep well.

Jun 06, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
PSR S910
by: Mike

Hi Dick and everyone.
Wow! I certainly didn't expect such a reaction. I may not have explained my situation clearly.
I am constantly on stage playing through a decent pa system and believe me I know sound and I have YEARS of experience in all sorts of venues. Even though the scene I play in is with a non-funded charity group the performance set-up is as serious and dedicated as playing at Carnegie Hall.
In earlier years I was a tv technician so I am quite familiar with the technical aspect of gear etc.. Also I realise very well that it is all relative to personal taste, but I am speaking from actual playing in front of an audience, not just playing at home in the kitchen.
And if I had a practical address for Yamaha I would write, believe me. And listen, would anyone out there like to buy the S910??
I have it about 2 months and I would be glad to get my money back.
Thanks for all your interest.
Regards, Mike.

Jun 06, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
PSR S910 Review
by: Alfred

Dear Mike: Your explanation leaves no doubt in my mind that your experience with the S 910 is not going to satisfy you, and I’m sure Dick, other members of this forum and I agree with what is a real AND JUSTIFIED peeve. I hope some member who is reading your message will be interested in buying the unit, considering it is only 2 months old and must have had TLC from you. I also hope you can get a fair price (if not a full price) for it. In view of the info provided by Dick for the unit, and the Ebay asking prices here in the US, I would suppose your best chances could be in a market closer to home (Ireland). Good luck to you. We hope to hear from you, now that you know about this Forum. Keep well.

Jun 26, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
PSR S910 Review
by: Kulu

Hi All, I do share all your views on this matter. the key issues here is satisfaction. If Mike is not satisfy will all the support that we have been trying to provide what else can we do but to encourage Mike to go ahead with his plan of selling the PSR S910

Talking about HiTech and Audio Engineering, no way on earth that you can produce exactly a sound from the real source say Euphonium (Brass)to be exactly the same that a Keyboard can produce and this is a fact, not an opinion. However, in all new development in the field of electronics which is has been proved theoretically and practically the closest to the real source sound if the TYROS 3 and PRS S910.

but for Mike you are free to make your choice but seek around for other vies from other webshare before making your decision.

All the best
Kulu

Jul 02, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Best Class
by: Arun Louis.L

Yamaha keyboard Psr all type model keyboard Voice and Style's are very best quality sounds Rhythms are super

Jul 17, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Speakers
by: eddie

I am very happy with my YamahaPSR S910 and would like your expert advice on a pair of Yamaha external speaker?

Jul 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
PSR 2100
by: NOELL JAMES

I DID CHECK THE KEYBOARD.....BUT IM STILL DESPERATELY LOOKING OUT FOR A PSR2100 AND I JUST CANT GET MY HANDS ON ONE EVEN A SECOND HAND !!I LIKE ITS FEATURES SPECIALLY THE MIC INPUT FOR MAKING A ONE MAN BAND INCLUDING YOUR SINGING!
PLZ INTRODUCE THIS MODEL FOR PEOPLE WHO ARE IN LUV WITH THIS MODEL AND CANT GET ONE!
THANX.
NOELL

Jul 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
This forum is NOT Yamaha
by: Dick Rector

Hi Noell

I do agree with you but you should ask Yamaha to do this. The forum is not an arm of Yamaha or any other brand.

Take care
Dick

Aug 03, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
s910
by: Anonymous

dick rector u sounds like an agent to yamaha, u favoring s910 even knowing that is a crap board

Aug 04, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
PSR 910
by: Dick Rector

Hello anonymous,

Not giving a name or a basic idea why you say this is being a coward in this case.
I have nothing to do with ANY factory and if you think a keyboard is crap than go on and save your pocketmoney so you can buy the one you like in a couple of years. Probably in a toy-shop?

Dick

Sep 09, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
PSR S 910 ? TECHICKS 7000 *****
by: AL

HELLO FELLOWS WHAT ABOUT TO PURCHASE THE BEST POWERFULL TECHNICKS 7000. I'M SELLING FOR A FRIEND THAT NEEDS MONEY. I'N NOT A PLAYER. BUT THIS KEABOARD NO MATCH FOR YAMAHA.

Sep 29, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
What do I buy
by: robert worcestershire

I owned a top of the range teknics organ 20 years ago which I gave to my nephew as he enjoyed playing a inexpensive casio keyboard 2 years ago and he has had great amount of pleasure playing it.
I am now considering buying a PSRS910 keyboard which after hearing it I thought its sounds were fantastic compaided with organ I had all those years ago.
Now the Yamaha dealer has offered me a second hand Tyros 3 £650 more than I would have to pay for the PSRS910 £1350 saying that it must be considered as the Tyros 3 a far superior instament.
I be would be grateful for some help on making my mind up on what to buy from some one who has experienced playing the two organs

Sep 29, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
what to buy
by: Dick Rector

Hi Robert,

It is your decision and also your money. As stated, yes the Tyros 3 is of course a super High End keyboard and superior over the S910, hence the price.
But since the Tyros 4 is available now and many owners seems to 'have to have' the new gadgets I would advice to shop around and have a look on Ebay the coming time.
And btw, the S910 is also an excellent keyboard, just a touch smaller version of the Tyros 3.
On the other hand, buying new gives you a years warranty.
Not easy to advice!

Happy hunting,
Dick

Dec 08, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Potential buyer of PSR S910
by: Rishat

Hay there, Just ordered my PSR S910. But after reading this thread I am bit scared coz $1600 means a loooot to me!! I work 7 days a week for living.. :( I still have the authority to cancel my order.. Shall I switch for another one? Sold my Korg M50 last week because of a bad capacitor issue and now reading this thread. Please guys advice me.. I am a fan of Yamaha and used PSR 550 for almost ten years without any issue. What would be wise? Buying this 910 or should I go for a Used Motif?? Sorry for my English by the way.. :)

Dec 28, 2010
Rating
starstar
surprised
by: Anonymous

I purchased a Yamaha PSR S910 several weeks ago and thank goodness with return priviledges. I couldn't believe that Yamaha would put out such a poorly constructed keybed with such poor key response. And at such a price. I could not adjust the unit to a good playing feel. If you played up between the black keys, you really had to press the keys to get them all to sound. The playing dynamics were those of a dollar store keyboard. It dropped sounds if I played large chords and used a pedal. The $599.00 MM6 played much better. The sounds were (to me) just adequate through the onboard speakers. I was so happy to be able to send it back for a refund. Maybe it is a five star for some, but i'm telling you, you would do well to give it a good try before you buy one, and make sure of the return policy.

Apr 06, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
about mike
by: aloysius

yo may be right because the face of the keyboard speaker is not towards u
you can connect a monitor speaker and then try it

May 27, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Have a word
by: Anonymous

i Think who ever slates Yamaha need to have a word.

Yamaha are the best selling and value for money i know.

I have been playing Yamaha for 12 Years and have never had a problem.

It is true what they say. You get what you pay for.

Financial difficulties which will not able you to buy a top end Yamaha is not an issue you should be bringing to this site.

Jun 01, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Like it
by: Don

Recently purchased the PSR-S910 and while not a expert keyboard player am finding it to be enjoyable. As I'm up in years, fingers not as fast but with the keyboard sounds I can make it sound not to shabby. I had a old PSR 520 which still works but I liked the new voices from the 910.
So many features will take time to learn and explore. I think this keyboard is a nice one.
Like anything else in life, if only it had this or did that is what keeps new items coming.
If U need more features, buy the better one.

Jan 01, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Query
by: SYQ

I purchased psr 910 in Delhi India. Lovely keyboard. I have a question. When I transpose, i still see the original chords on screen, not the transposed ones. Any help?

Jan 31, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
abt psr
by: Anonymous

This month i like to buy 910
is any problem other than the transpose change
plzz help

Mar 29, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
POOR SOUND
by: ALWIN

IAM A PROFESSIONAL KEYBOARDIST I HAVE KORG TR & KORG PA50, COMPARED TO PA50 SOUND ENGINE YAMAHA S910 IS NOT REACHING THAT LEVEL VERY VERY BAD SOUND

Aug 29, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
To each his own
by: Mr 88

Ive played gigs for last 35 years.......sometimes, it may have more to do with the way you play the notes and choice of notes that has more to do with it. I run mine thru Bose system and it awesome. I have studied sax lines,guitar, harmonica riffs, etc. it's a lotta work. If you play it like a piano...it does not sound like a guitar. Just SAYIN.......

Jan 02, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
My 2c on the PSR S910
by: Mike G

I bought the PSR S910 about 7 months ago and was convinced to buy the Yamaha Stagepas 300 to play it through. The keyboard action and weight of the S910 is pretty cheap, to say the least. I do like the variety of sound some of it is quite clever, and you do have an opportunity to produce custom sounds.
The standard speakers are not good value for money, in fact Yamaha ought to have been a bit more honest and sold the board without speakers, and had their customers buy some decent sounding speakers as a separate item.
The Stagepas is now being discontinued, and I guess I bought it because of price and it's a decent but small PA that has a stereo input for keyboards. The venues I play are quite small, and therefore I did not want a huge hulking PA to have to lug around. But that's another story.
There are some good share sites that folks have uploaded their music to and I have contributed to those as well as downloaded, so there is quite a lot of music already for the S910 out there. Programming is easy, and intuitive, maybe not as slick as the TYROS but it's not as expensive either. In order to overcome the icky keyboard that has more of a place as a kids toy than a real instrument I bought a used Clavinova, and am using the really nicely weighted keyboard of that instrument and connecting my S910 and using the functionality of the S910. At the moment that's the way things are and until that TYROS 4 comes down in price I guess it's gonna stay that way. Bottom line its a good keyboard, and my complaints are only niggles really, - I mean, I was the one who spent $1600 on this thing in the first place, so I only have myself to blame for not having $5K to spare for the T4 machine.

Mar 05, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
two improvements needed
by: Anonymous

dynamics from soft to very loud not wide enough causing a level volume that is dead. I am not using a volume pedal. Striking a key softly or strongly gives little difference.

Should be able to rebalance rythyms and melody so as to make the rhythm not so loud.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Yamaha Keyboard User Reviews.

Yamaha PSR S910 Arranger Review

by Manuel Vega
(Conway, South Carolina, USA)

(Yamaha PSR S910 Review)

First the "bad", It looked intimidating, but so does every KB even at toy levels.
That is the only bad, and this is no toy.
Price was intimidating too, $1749 for me, most my other KBs I bought in the past were well under 1k dollars. I paused and realized I would kick myself if I didn't take the plunge.

Rule of thumb voices on right accompany on left
Port left starboard right.:) simple. Remember Halsey, he didnt know difference either, and he headed an entire navalfleet
If you know a lot or know to little, this (the Yamaha PSR S910) is the KB for you and I look at things like intuitivness of layout and GUI on screen, just as I would evaluate software.
Meaning I won't be stuck to a manual for months, whilst it sits like a desk weight or an ottoman in the corner of a room.

Good ergonomic design
For small apartment to a big room..Ideal.
The sounds and accompaniment are out of this world, music samplings from every genre possible, Broadway to old classical ..pressure sensitive keys thats bring up or soften a string backup or sax or whatever, and individualized controls to tweak or mod them.

One really does sound like a one man band. The ambient effects and acoustics are stellar, you can sound like you are producing Days of our lives, to a solo night clubs, to a concert.
If you see one (Yamaha PSR S910) at a music store, do ask the salesperson to demo. My salesperson, was so good, and was never ever pushy..lol he was rapped up in it carried away.
That was at Andy owings Music Store in the Grand Strand Mall in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. Experiences may vary depending your salesperson experience. It was obvious this one loved music and understood the limits of each workstation station he had in the store.

When He replayed a customer singing that had just left the store, as I walked in, I could not believe it was not a professional recording good enough to sell on a CD. My jaw dropped.
Like Santana?, In there, Like Elton John, Marvin Gaye, Deep Purple, they and dozens more, in there.
There is no way you will ever outgrow this, with simple usb port and make your own cd from your mac or pc.

This machine will rock your world.
If you thought you couldn't well now you can let your creativity grow, if not, explode.

Thank you Yamaha

PS. What I covered barely scratches the surface.
Good luck in your searches.


(Yamaha PSR S910 Review)

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Yamaha Keyboard User Reviews.

Search This Site:

Custom Search

Check out How To Read Music Fast: A 4-Step Beginner's Guide To Reading Music Quickly And Easily.

Go here to buy a Yamaha keyboard.

Recommended For You
Learn to play piano and keyboards:

Click here to learn how to play keyboards and piano (with Piano For All).