Yamaha PSR S900 Review

by ANDY THOMSON
(ESSEX ENGLAND)

I BOUGHT THE YAMAHA S900 FOR ONE REASON... THOSE SUPER S.A.
VOICES WHICH MADE T2 THE BEST PERFORMANCE KEYBOARD..
S900 HAS 23 S.A. VOICES THE SAXES ARE THE BEST AND IT IS SO EASY TO CONTROL THE VOICE.
S900 HAS ABOUT 300 STYLES WHICH JUST BLOW YOU AWAY...
WHEN YOU PLAY STAR WARS OR THE MAG 7 IT IS JUST INCREDABLE...I HAVE ADD THE REST OF THE MISSING T2 STYLES TO THE S900 ASWELL..... THE USB CONNECTION MAKES
ADD FILES OR SONGS SO EASY PLUS YOU CAN RECORD STRAIGHT
ONTO THE USB STICK THEN BURN OFF YOUR OWN C.D.'S WHICH
IS GREAT...THREE WORDS FOR THE S900. FUN FUN FUN....

Comments for Yamaha PSR S900 Review

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jul 01, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
no comparison possible
by: Anonymous

it may be limited in the sense you are saying, but for live performance it is no good, with only two outputs, you can't separate instruments, only left or right, whereas the PSR9000 has 4 outputs, where you can send bass to one out, drums to another, keyboards to another, and other instruments to another.

the floppy limitation of the PSR9000 can be easily overcome by installing an external hard drive, (in the PSR9000 there is provision for external and internal hard drives, so the point is moot).

besides, floppies are very handy and convenient, regardless of what some say because they have to have the latest plug-n-play "stick". The floppy is a proven product.

I tried the S900, in no way can it be compared or considered a replacement for the PSR9000, one is a professional performance instrument, (the PSR9000), the other is a "cut-corners" instrument, (the S900).

Jul 01, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
For the PSR S900
by: Dennis

I feel sad for Anonymous. He or she has not really had a good look at the S900. The Graphic equalizer and the ability to tweak and change voices is just phenomenal. USB drive and the use of Gb sticks just enhance the abilities of the machine. The thought of only 1.4 Mb of storage on the old floppies is pathetic. I record to the MIDI section, correct my errors and then record a .wav file to a USB stick. The S900 is probably the most user friendly keyboard I have played.

Mar 09, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
setup disks
by: jose

you can go to Yamaha.com and download the update setup disks. you will need 5 empty/blank floppy disks.


Mar 09, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
YAMAHA PSR 9000
by: Anonymous

Can anyone please help me. I have Yamaha PSR 9000 and anytime I switch it back on the auto-accompaniment comes on, but now it does not anymore. I am not sure if it is faulty or if I have tampered with some settings there.
Also, I need the setup disk fir this keyboard.
Thanks everyone
adruffs

Jan 06, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
PSR-9000 vs. S900
by: Anonymous

here we are, 2012 and counting. I'm still using my old PSR-9000. Haven't found anything better yet but I will be checking KORG to see how many assignable outputs they offer in their Workstations. The S900 might be fine for someone who is going to play at home, but for live performance? no way! Thank you but no thank you. The built-in speakers in the PSR-9000 are NOT for live performance, but for testing arrangements, or home & studio use before the audio goes into the recording machine.

Jan 06, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
About s900
by: Rajasingh

somewhat different

Jan 06, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
About s900
by: Rajasingh

somewhat different

Dec 04, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Yamaha PSR S900
by: Dennis

""I made a comment previously about my experience with a sealed-box S900 I opened at the music store, it was awful and even the salesperson agreed, very low cosmetic quality and sound-wise it was no contest with my old PSR-9000. It didn't even have built-in speakers for heaven's sake. ""

Having blasted out a dance hall with sound I never realised that my S900 did not have built in speakers. Regards,D.

Nov 16, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
PSR-9000 Still Rules
by: Anonymous

the PSR-S900 is half of the PSR-9000. That is why you are experiencing half-of-everything. Economy of manufacture vs. quality.

I still use my PSR-9000 because of the high-fidelity everything. I made a comment previously about my experience with a sealed-box S900 I opened at the music store, it was awful and even the salesperson agreed, very low cosmetic quality and sound-wise it was no contest with my old PSR-9000. It didn't even have built-in speakers for heaven's sake.

Yes, the PSR-9000 is one big heavy dinosaour to move around but there is a reason. It's a compromise you have to live with.


Nov 16, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
PLS HELP
by: joyel manuel

can u pls comment how to open wav file in psr s 900 from a usb>>>>>>>>\MY EMAIL ID IS JOYELPULLATT
gmail.com.......pls replay as fast as iposable >>>>>>
thanks in advance

Apr 24, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Yamaha PSR S 900 Review
by: Joe

HI Yamaha,

U Guys are the Best in keyboards..Loved every model u released till now..
My Frnd bought new Yamaha PSR S 900 its good but not happy with the sounds and there's no place to hold the keyboard..like all the other keyboards has a lil gap or grip to hold atleast to move..but this model doesn't..

Sounds Clarity is good but very sharp. And about the USB well its nice tech but if you could also have SD card like you had for PSR 3000 dats was better coz sometime USB malfunctions..

Kindly,do the needful for the future models

Thanks,

Keyboard FAn..
Joe


Apr 24, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Yamaha PSR S900 Review
by: Old Houseboater

My 4th keyboard. This keyboard is so good that I am almost Completely ignoring my Lowrey Majesty. The rhythms have grown up. My previous PSR 2000 was built when percussion was king and IMHO was over done. The 900 has many more sophisticated rhythms coupled with much better voice combinations. The voices are much more satisfying, especially the horns and woodwinds. My registration activity is almost exclusively voice oriented. Smooth/rich is my primary goal. Tend to prefer smooth jazz rhythms. Cant read music, play by ear, This machine makes me sound good!!

Apr 24, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Yamaha PSR S900 Review
by: Dennis Oyston

This is the most fantastic keyboard I have played. I up-graded from the PSR 1100 and the sounds are so much better. However, I do have reservations about the articulated voices, they seem to fade out especially if playing largetto. With the ability, not only to build up the registrations but to tweek the voices to exactly what one requires is fantastic. It is relatively light and compact (I take mine to play in church and to various venues) so it fits neatly on the back seat of my car. The recording system is great and being able to connect to the internet and my computer-well what more do you want?

Oct 27, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
PSR S900
by: Basy

I went to a music store looking for a better PSR-9000, and was dissapointed at the PSR S900,
it doesn't have half as many features as my old PSR-9000 particularly, I have 4 outputs in my PSR-9000 and the PSR S900 only has two.

In fact the rear panel is almost empty of features when compared to a PSR-9000. I also agree about the lack of volume in the PSR S900, it simply is a step backwards, not forward.

For live performing, stick with your old PSR-9000.

Mar 09, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Very nice machine.
by: Guest

Hello, I bought this machine a couple of years ago, and I'm very pleased to have it.

The voices are really real, the guitar voice is just like a normal guitar, caused by the amazing effects throughout the whole time you play the guitar.

Although, the sound from the boxes is on full power not that great, sometimes it has some difficulties with it, but i connect them to a pair of boxes, 2 by 1 meter ;D Then it sounds really really great.

The voices, styles and the rest is really great. I thought the rubber buttons gave some trouble, but after 2 years they're all very clean, and still working. It's much 'chique' when you have those soft buttons.

Conclusion: Great machine, great sound, great everything. Only the sound sometimes whobbles, but that's easy to fix for another 500 euro's or so. If you play just on the normal sound, then there is no trouble.

I hope I informed you enough to make your choise.

Apr 03, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
comparing PSR9000 and PSRS 900
by: Anjalika Silva

I was a 9000 owner and loved the machine but it was too heavy to move about so I got rid of it and bought the PSRS 900. I don't know if my instrument is a lemon but the sound is awful. The maximum volume is nowhere neare the PSR 9000. I adjusted balances and nothing works. When I play the base sounds shudder. Need to hear from someone who bought a PSRS900 whether they experienced the same.

I want to call the store and exchange but will have to pay a restocking fee although with my experience playing for many years, there is something wrong with this machine. My $200 YPT400 sound better than the $1600 machine.

Please share your experience.

Thank you.

Anjalika Silva AnjalikaS@aol.com

Feb 05, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
S900 RLZ
by: Deadpool

the S900 is all about SA voices, if it didn't have them, it wouldn't be worth the price.

The sounds couldn't sound more realistic and the styles sound great.

The only thing i don't like are the rubber buttons, Yamaha made a step backwards with it.
I hope they last enough years O.o!

S900 is deffinetly a nice improvement of the 3000 (not considering the buttons) Some buttons are back such as "voice effect buttons"

On the other hand, the quality of the keys has improved a lot compared to those found in the 3000. The USB recorder is another great improvement and now recording voice or an external instument, is possible and the S900 will save it as .WAV file.

I don't regret having changed my old 3000 for the new S900, i bet you won't either.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Yamaha Keyboard User Reviews.

Search This Site:

Custom Search

Check out How To Read Music Fast: A 4-Step Beginner's Guide To Reading Music Quickly And Easily.

Go here to buy a Yamaha keyboard.

Recommended For You
Learn to play piano and keyboards:

Click here to learn how to play keyboards and piano (with Piano For All).