Yamaha PSR I 425 Review!

by Solomon Paulraj
(Tiruchirapalli, India)

My Yamaha Studio!

My Yamaha Studio!

I purchased the Yamaha PSR I425 Keyboard this week. I already own a PSR 413. I was attracted towards the Indian Voices/Styles which made me buy this.

The keyboard performance is excellent, the Indian voices esp. the Sitar is quite amazing. I could not believe my ears. Yamaha has done an excellent work with this model to Indian Music Lovers.

The keyboard cost me INR 20000/-. (includes only a bag). I have assembled a adaptor by myself which cost me INR 200.

Now I have both PSR 413 and PSR I425 both look like brothers. The layout of the keyboard functions only varies a little bit between these models.

I will give more reviews on the keyboard very soon...

Solomon.

Comments for Yamaha PSR I 425 Review!

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Feb 06, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
PSR I-425 recording
by: swaminathan

Experts & Friends,

I'm using PSR I-425, I'm trying to record a song. But feeling some constraints.

Basically , there are 5 tracks in which we can record seperately and play it together as a song or sequence.

Constraints are,

1. I can create a rhythm using drum kit, for a song. but I cannot loop it for a full track. I have to manually play and record the rhythm for the entire track.

2. when we play a small piece in a track, and record it, we cannot come back again to the same track and play and record the empty spaces in the track. That is, we can record a track only once.

Any solution for the above problems? Atleast the rhythm problem alone can someone solve..?

Aug 25, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
i choose casio ctk 7000 againt this psr i425
by: Paul

hi
casio ctk7000 has
all indian tones and rhythms
rhytem editor, create user rhythem/bass/chords/variation parts in minutes
tone editor - create brand new user tones
mixer, dsp, mic in,insert in, stereo in for input from other instruments like guitar, mic, other instrument to record wav format
drawbar/equalizer type control for mixer/organ tones and control accompaniment parts volume and other properties of each drum/bass/chords of rythem
song sequencer to track by track record
registry for quick fetch settings

but price deference between pari45 and ctk7000 is just 1000 bugs

Jul 30, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
how can transfer datas from psr-i425 to a pc
by: manoj antony

DEAR SOLOMON BROTHER
I AM SUFFERING A PROBLEM THAT I DONT KNOW HOW TO TRANSFER RECORDED DATAS FROM MY KEYBOARD TO MY LAP TOP MY LAPTOP IS FUJITSU LIFEBOOK Aseries WINDOWS7.WHAT SOFTWARE SHOULD I DOWNLOAD FOR THIS PLEASE GIVE ME YOUR VALUABLE SUGGESTIONS
manoj.antony44@yahoo.com






THANKS IN ADVANCE


Jun 20, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Indian Style files(Tabla, dholak...) for sale!!
by: Anonymous

Dear Music Lovers,
I do have 1700 Indian style files and 18000 international style files. I also sell Midi and Loops.
If anyone interested plz contact me..or send me ur mail id, i can sent some samples(johnyrex@gmail.com)

Regards
John Rex
mail: johnyrex@gmail.com
chennai, india, 0919994111352

Feb 29, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Yamaha
by: Anonymous

Its a good keyboard but the only demerit is that we can only save one style

Nov 21, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Bought PSR I 425 in Bangalore
by: Rahul

Hi,

I bought yamaha psr i425 yesterday in Bangalore for 18,500 (includes Adaptor + stand + Bag ). Its really awesome Keyboard. I bought in SoundGlitz show room in Brigade road.

Oct 03, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
DONT BUY E series, I series & DGX series
by: Anonymous

Here are the reasons

I used a PSR E413 keyboard... I think YAMAHA have done lot of mistakes on this keyboard... there are lot of mistakes (disadvantages) on this E series, I series & DGX series.

1. you cant change fingering modes.. it has only multi finger mode.. so you cant use left voice while playing a style.

2. when you press main fill button it changes main A to main B... so you have to press twice the fill button.

3. thare is no freeze button... so voices are stores on reg bank with existing style... when you change the reg. voice... it'll change the style too.

Ex. when you want to play a song with many voices, you have to store all voices on registration memory with same style & tempo. When you want to play a new song with different style with same voices you have to restore whole voice set on reg bank with your new style. This is very gruelling job for me.

4. registration memory can store only 2 voices... there are another 8 banks but useless. becouse if you want to change a voice while playing you have to press 3 buttons to change a single voice. With a drum filling.. you have to press 5 buttons.

Ex: press drum filling button twice (other vise it’ll change main A to main B) + bank button + bank number + reg number button. Pressing 5 buttons take a long time.. even millisecond is a matter for musicians.

Even very old keyboards like PSR – 230 330 had all these features. I don’t know why they have removed these features from new keyboards.

I am using many voices while playing... so this is a sh---y keyboard for me & I sold it for half a price I bought it & bought a PSR 2100. [used one] that is a great keyboard and love it..

Thushara518@yahoo.com

Sep 29, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I425 VS E423
by: Player

I425 :

1.Indian Styles & Voices added less in number. 2.Memory Size is 373 KB only. Can add only limited no. of external styles
3.Cost is Rs.17460.00
4.Styles and Voices are less
5. Color is Silver. Within short time, the color gets shaded.

E423 :

1.NO Indian Styles & Voices.
2.Memory Size is 1.8 MB. Can add more no. of external styles. 1800 KB/20 KB = 90 Styles can be added (assuming 20 KB per style [.sty])
3.Cost is Rs. 16,490.00
4.Styles and Voices are more.
5. Color is Black. No color problem !!!

Sep 20, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I425 or E423
by: Anonymous

I 425 is the best one.. check the other threads.. already explained the pros and cons of the same...

Sep 19, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
i425 or e423
by: hemraj

plz......help!!!!i wanna buy one among them....plz tell me which is the best....(i425 or e423.....plz help ...friends....

Apr 28, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
psr i425 details
by: Anonymous

I own a yamaha psr i425 for last 1 month. Do you think it is possible to do some "scale changing" function in the same octave, as can be done in an ordinary scale-changing harmonium? Please reply at csuvo@rediffmail.com

Mar 21, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
E423 instead of I425 in US
by: KeyBoard Player

Hi Ramana

You can go for this KeyBoard E423. I mentioned some of the Pros & Cons for I425 and E423.

I425 :

1.Indian Styles & Voices added less in number. 2.Memory Size is 373 KB only. Can add only limited no. of external styles
3.Cost is Rs.17460.00
4.Styles and Voices are less
5. Color is Silver. Within short time, the color gets shaded.

E423 :

1.NO Indian Styles & Voices.
2.Memory Size is 1.8 MB. Can add more no. of external styles. 1800 KB/20 KB = 90 Styles can be added (assuming 20 KB per style [.sty])
3.Cost is Rs. 16,490.00
4.Styles and Voices are more.
5. Color is Black. No color problem !!!

Thanks
KeyBoard Player

Mar 07, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
which is better after PSR I425
by: Ramana

Hello,
Currently I am staying USA and I want to bring Yamaha keyboard to India. But I can not find Yamaha PSR I425 model here. So which model I can take except I425. Is E423 ok? Can you please any one suggest me?
my mail id is rvramana2003@gmail.com
Regards,
Ramana

Feb 25, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
i want to buy psr i 425
by: Anonymous

hi to all...iam going to buy psr i 425..before i read all reviews...anyone please help ..

Jan 26, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
yamaha psr i425 for sale
by: Anonymous

as i am going abroad i am planning to sell my key board . i bought it 4 months back. then it cost me rs.19000 with the stand . call me on 9849983895 if anybody is interested.location vijayawada(A.P)

Jan 20, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
request for 16 banks registration programme
by: Solomon Paulraj

Mr.Solomon Paulraj

could u please explain me how to do 16 banks registration programme in psr i425 for changing over the voice/style while playing.. which enable me to use all the 16 banks simultaneously . Right now im using only 2 banks..

pl advise me

regards

sampath kumar.s.

Jan 20, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
changing voice in memory banks and the style remains the same
by: binoy George

Mr.george

Sampath here.. when you are using memory banks for change over the voice at the same time you must also save the beat and tempo in memory bank. so that we you are trying to change the voice and beat wont change and it will be continued.. please try this to solve your problem..

further i need one favour.. in psr i425 there are 16 banks in memory... how to use all the 16 banks simultaneously..Right now im using only 2 banks..

Dec 18, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Note Mr.Sampath Kumar.s.
by: Solomon Paulraj

You can do that... you have to connect your pc to download the same...

Dec 18, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I425 vs.E423
by: Solomon Paulraj

If you like Indian Voices you can go for i425 otherwise you can pick E423 (new avatar of E413 with improved arpeggio effects etc) both is ok for solo performance.

Dec 06, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
psr i425 or e423
by: Young

I want to buy a yamaha-psr key board which one is better i425 or e423. please suggest me.
young, durgapur, west bengal
young7552@gmail.com

Dec 02, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I425 or E423
by: Anonymous

i425 or E423 is better for solo perfomance??
help me on "shriramkardile0523@gmail.com"

Nov 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Solomon, I need your valuable suggestions
by: Anonymous

Hi Solomon,
I need your valuable recommendations & suggestions.

Currently I have PSR 295 and I was trying to locate as how to give the the bass electric guitar effect in the backend while playing.

Recently one of my friend said that PSR 550B only has this option.

Kindly advise me on how to get the bass guitar effect with PSR 295 or as per my friend is that only available in PSR 550B or does your new keyboard i425 has this feature.

Thanks,
Allan Bezaleel a

Oct 19, 2010
Rating
star
Yamaha PSR E-413 is a mistake
by: thushara518

I am using PSR E-413 keyboard... I think YAMAHA have done a big mistake for this keyboard... there are lot of mistakes on this E series.

these are the mistakes:
1. you cant change fingering modes.. it has fixed to single finger mode.

2. when you press main fill button it changes main A to main B... so you have to press twice the fill button to have normal fill.

3. there is no freeze button... then voices are stores with existing style... on registration memory.

4. I use 2 to 6 voices while i am playing... but registration memory can store only 2 voices... other 8 banks are useless. because if you want to change the voice while playing with drum fill, you have to press 5 buttons to change a single voice.

Eg: press drum filling button twice + bank button + bank number + voice button

even PSR 220, 230 can store 4 voices on registration memory.

so... i don't recommend THIS KEYBOARD [even this E series, I series & DGX series]

if you have solutions for these pls. reply thushara518@yahoo.com

Aug 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
ENQUIRY
by: Anonymous

I WOULD LIKE TO BUY A PSR I425
ANYBODY CAN HELP ME THAT,IT IS POSSIBLE TO SAVE MUSIC ON KEY BOARD OR OTHER DRIVES TO RECALL THE SAME ON THE STAGE. AND CAN I CHANGE THE DIFFERENT
TONES IN A SINGLE TOUCH?

Aug 03, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
its 2 gud to learn keyboard
by: Anonymous

thank u yamaha for launching this product,itz too gud.

May 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
WHATS BEST FOR A BEGINNER?
by: JALPA R.

Hi, I m Jalpa R. and I'm planning to buy a keyboard soon. I want to learn keyboard & as I'm new in this, i have no idea what features should I look for when I'm buying a keyboard. I have read many reviews about yamaha keyboards..pls suggest what model should I go for which will be best for me.

Thanks in advance,
Jalpa R.
Mumbai.

May 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
CHOICE OF KEYBOARD
by: sampath kumar

Mr.Amit

If you are not interested in indian styles my opinion you better prefer to buy yamaha psr E403 with low budget cost and having all the features compared to psr i425 except indian styles

regards

sampath kumar.s.

May 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Request for external styles to be downloaded for PSR I425
by: sampath

Dear Mr.Solomon Paulraj

I too recently purchased the yamaha psr i425 and studying the keyboard. I already had casio ct670 and using the same in the church choir..Could you pl inform me wheather we can download some styles from internet and use them for psr i425? If so please inform me the site to be downloaded

thanks in advance

sampath kumar.s.
Manager (P&A)
M/s.Nava Bharat Ventures Ltd
Paloncha
Khammam 507 154 AP

Apr 10, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
please help!!!!!!!!
by: Anonymous

i just want to know whether i can use a pendrive to play in psri425.Please help me.

Mar 22, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Details
by: Amit

Hello sir,

I want to buy keyboard and my budget is aroung Rs 16,000-17,000 so which should buyof Yamaha's.

But pls let me know what si difference between I425 & E413 regarding features. I'm not interseted in Indian Styles which I425 has

Here are some models for which i' looking for
which is the best in above given price.
PSR E423
PSR E413
PSR I425
YPT 410

Also i have laptop so how can i bring laptop into use with keyboard pls let me about sound track softwares for MIDI, recording, editing, seqeuncer or any other which are used with keyboard in LIVE concert
pls provide with above details on
dongrea@ymail.com

waiting for your reply sir
Thank You

Mar 09, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
STYLES
by: Anonymous

How can i add new voice and styles for my PSR 1425 keyboard - Indian Voice and Styles only please help me

Sagar Walavalkar

Feb 14, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
help me please
by: Anonymous

Sir,
My name is Anand. R, and i am a student of commerce and right now i am interested in buying a Piano.Due to my internal exam is going on i am unable to visit any store but please provide me the information with regarding this two model of piano.

Yamaha Keyboard PSR - E413

Yamaha Indian Keyboard PSR - i425

The information that i need is that when we compare the above piano, what is the feature included in E413 which is not present in I425.
Or do I425 includes all the feature that E413 is having.

i have see many reviews of both the piano in the internet but not the comparison.

Please do reply to this mail.

powerpowerin@gmail.com

Thanking You.

Dec 08, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
retaining same style and chsnging only voice
by: Anonymous


i think u need to same style and different voices in registration memory so that when u change a voice using registration memory only voice changes and style continues to play since same style has been stored

-sat

Dec 02, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
doubt
by: Anonymous

hai solomon
i hav sum doubt.i reali like to study to play keyboard can i study this from any book .which model is best to study am planing to buy newone
pls send me a reply
my id is ratheeshchaithram@yahoo.com

Oct 03, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Ramavatharam Gundala reply
by: Soham

Ramavatharam Gundala,

E313 is very low end compared to PSR-i425 and also costs almost half.
I'll recommend you the PSR-E413, which is cheaper than the i425 with most features except Indian tones.

Sep 30, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
pendrive
by: Ash

hi friends ,
iam an owner of a new I425 and i want to know whether i can use my pendrive on it to transfer and record the songs and style?does it have afloppy drive? please answer me.

Sep 29, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
PSR I425 Vs E313
by: Ramavatharam Gundala

Hi, I bought PSR I 425 for my daughter. But the music instructor in Doha, Qatar is recommending E313. Could anyone advice which one is best? Would like to know whether I425 has all the features of E313 ??? Based on the advice I will retain or exchange I425 with E313 which is still under wraps.


Sep 07, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Registration of User tones
by: Jai

Dear friends,

It is read that we can have 16 user tone registration on the key board PSR-I-425. But only there are two main registration buttons on the board. How can we utilize various user tones after registration, in a live stage program.
Means, Can we press the buttons 1 2 3 4 5 etc..to swich over to various user registered tones?

Thanks in advance...Jai

Sep 03, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Changing voice without changing the style
by: binoy George

Dear Solomon,

I also have the same keyboard. Please help me to sort out a problem. When I use a style and then trying to change a voice using memory banks, the style also changes. This is making the playing difficult. In many keyboards, there is 'freeze' button to stop the style change when voice changes. Do you know how to survive this problem.Please help me. my ID is binoygeorgev@gmail.com.

Thanking you,

Binoy George
Alleppey,Kerala

Aug 10, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
interface with PC/Laptop
by: Anonymous

Hi Solomon

i do have also a PSRI425. can u please let me know the useability of this keyboard with a PC. i mean i'd like to know what i can do with this keyboard and my laptop. do u know anything about line recording. means can i record anything on my laptop while playing a song in my PSRI425

u can mail me at an_sahoo@yahoo.co.in

thanks in advance.

Jul 15, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Yamaha PSR I 425 Review!
by: Solomon Paulraj

More on the keyboard...

It is the top level keyboard in the PSR E/I series (PSR E313, E413, etc) because it includes additonal Indian Voices, Sytles etc and also all the other regular voices and syles of PSR E413.


PSR-I425 has 30 Indian voices and 12 popular Indian styles. It has new features, including sound control knobs that give the user real time control effects, filters, envelope generator and tempo. (which PSR-E413 also has)

To be precise.. PSR-I425 is the grand big brother of PSR-E413.

more review very soon...


Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Yamaha Keyboard User Reviews.

Search This Site:

Custom Search

Check out How To Read Music Fast: A 4-Step Beginner's Guide To Reading Music Quickly And Easily.

Go here to buy a Yamaha keyboard.

Recommended For You
Learn to play piano and keyboards:

Click here to learn how to play keyboards and piano (with Piano For All).